Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Title: Section 47-5.2 - Physician eligibility

Effective Date


47-5.2 Physician eligibility.

(a) Eligibility. To be eligible to receive a Physician Loan Repayment Program award, a physician must:

(1) be a primary care physician, emergency medicine physician or other physician specialist determined by the Commissioner to be in short supply;

(2) be licensed in New York;

(3) agree to practice in an underserved area for a minimum of two years;

(4) agree to apply award monies received toward repaying all or part of recipient's qualifying debt; and,

(5) complete, sign, and file an application with the Department on such forms and within such timeframes specified by the Department. All required supplementary documentation shall be filed as directed. Incomplete or illegible applications may be rejected.

(b) A physician may be eligible for a maximum of four annual awards.

(c) Ineligibility. A physician will be ineligible for an award if:

(1) the physician has a service obligation to the federal government or other entity which could require service outside of New York State;

(2) the physician is fulfilling a service obligation under the Regents Physician Loan Forgiveness Program or a federally-funded loan repayment program for the period for which a Physician Loan Repayment Program Award is requested; or

(3) the physician is in default on the repayment of a guaranteed student loan or in default under the terms of any other governmentally administered scholarship or financial aid program and the individual refuses to allow the New York State Higher Education Services Corporation to directly apply the award to the defaulted account(s).

(d) Selection criteria. The Department of Health shall consider the following factors in selecting recipients:

(1) the need for a physician specializing in the same specialty as the applicant in the underserved area where the applicant proposes to fulfil his/her service obligation;

(2) prior experience in serving the medically indigent or other underserved populations; and

(3) appropriateness of the applicant s education and training to meet the needs of the underserved area in which the applicant proposes to fulfil his/her service obligation.

(e) Number. The Department of Health shall award up to 100 new awards per year.


VOLUME A-1 (Title 10)