Title: Section 800.12 - Reciprocal certification requirements
800.12 Reciprocal certification requirements. (a) To qualify for New York State certification based on out-of-state emergency medical responder, emergency medical technician, advanced emergency medical technician, emergency medical technician-critical care, emergency medical technician-paramedic, emergency medical services instructor certification or emergency medical services training credentials, a person must be currently certified or licensed by another state, the United States Military, or the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians, based on an out-of-state training program. The out-of-state training must be equivalent to or more stringent than New York State training and examination requirements.
(b) The applicant must:
(1) demonstrate a need for certification, such as New York State residence or employment opportunity;
(2) have successfully completed a course that meets or exceeds a curriculum based on the current department EMS certification guidelines;
(3) have successfully completed
(i) an out-of-state recognized or National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians practical skills and written examination within 18 months of the date the application is received by the department; or
(ii) if a member or veteran of the United States Military, an approved medical training program from the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines or Coast Guard that meets or exceeds current national emergency medical services education guidelines within three (3) years of the date the application is received by the department;
(4) submit a complete application for reciprocal certification on forms provided by the department;
(5) submit the filing fee of $25 for emergency medical responder or emergency medical technician certification or $50 for all other level of certification;
(6) if the applicant has been convicted of one or more criminal offenses, as defined in section 800.3(ak) of this part, be found eligible after a balancing of the factors set out in Article 23-A of the Correction Law. In accordance with that Article, no application for a license shall be denied by reason of the applicant having been previously convicted of one or more criminal offenses unless (i) there is a direct relationship between one or more of the previous criminal offenses and duties required of this certificate or (ii) certifying the applicant would involve an unreasonable risk to property or the safety or welfare of a specific individual or the general public. In determining these questions, the department will look at all factors listed under New York State Correction Law Section 753;
(7) not have been found guilty or in violation, in any jurisdiction, of any other non-criminal offense or statutory and/or regulatory violation, as those terms are defined in section 800.3 of this Part, relating to patient safety unless the department determines such applicant would not involve an unreasonable risk to property or the safety or welfare of a specific individual or the general public; and
(8) be at least eighteen years of age.
VOLUME E (Title 10)